loading_img

Corthay, the discreet stars

Corthay, the discreet stars
21/07/2022

Corthay, the discreet stars

  • By hggfd
  • |
  • 236 Views

If your steps carry you in the wax pantheon that is the Grévin museum, on the great Parisian boulevards, take a look at the feet of the effigy of Pierre Hermé, statuized since early October.The famous French pastry chef carries magnificent shoes.Of the Corthay.Less famous than Berluti or Lobb, Corthay nevertheless have their fan club.Pierre Hermé swears by them: "I love them.Stone has crazy talent.I find things from him at home, or from me at home, as you want!I buy him a pair per year, and I keep them forever.»Jacques-Antoine Granjon, the boss of Vente-Privée.com, would have fifteen pairs of the same model, but of different colors.Both - like a multitude of stars, sportsmen, artists, bosses - once crossed the door of the store -store on rue Volney, a stone's throw from Place Vendôme and its prestigious jewelers.Impossible, by entering this real small case, not to be seized and then bewitched by the scents mixed with leather, wood, wax...Here is a whole world which, in the rules of the art, refines the patina of customers of customers around the world."Come, I'm going to show you our workshops," invites, courteous and charming, the master of places Pierre Corthay, all in sober elegance.Only a "skull" ring brought to the finger announces the singularity of the character."He is an extraordinary perfectionist and esthete, a lover of good expensive, fine wines and offbeat places," says one of his knowledge.Direction the basements, therefore, with the appearance and smell so characteristic of Parisian cellars.

There, in the lair of the only Bottier art master in France, the wooden forms of the feet of prestigious customers are suspended from the walls..Their name is listed in the felt: the tennisomenal Nadal and Tsonga, the actresses and actors Cate Blanchett, Matt Damon, Clint Eastwood, Jean Reno, Leonardo Di Caprio;Aditya Mittal, the son of the CEO of ArcelorMittal, Pierre Hermé, Jacques-Antoine Granjon...Pierre Corthay readily tells that the purchase of 150 pairs by the Sultan of Brunei launched the company and that the contract with the prestigious Long Island Golf Club finished the ready-to-chausse.But also that a school bus driver saved out to buy tailor -made corthay and leads his bus with it!Stars or simple lovers of the beautiful capable of breaking their piggy bank to offer a pair at 6000 euros, modesty is in order here.All and all are housed in the same brand when it comes to stretching your feet to the master of cess.Entry in matters is almost the Psy couch to verbalize his idea, his desires.Bottier's informed opinion can avoid faults of taste and look.At Corthay, we expose more than his feet.Impatient.It takes about six months to take the measurements, sculpt the wooden shapes, make the first draft, try, rectify, choose the skins (French calf, camel - a Corthay innovation), cut and assemble the shoes, adjust them,Choose the shade, apply it, wax or freeze...The price to pay to find shoe - perfect - at its foot.

From here only come out a few hundred pairs per year.Others will prefer to choose a more standard “ready-to-chausse” model-still count 1140 euros per first price-made in the Beaupréau artisanal factory, a small industrial town in Maine-et-Loire, inSome plea for Cholet.Beaupréau is for 90% of the turnover (around 10 million euros) of Corthay house which makes around 10,000 pairs per year, with the same care and the same skins as rue Volney.Quantities far from reaching those of the "big" in the sector, such as Berluti and John Lobb, the closest inmarkets, whose estimated volumes revolve rather around 60000 and 30000.But the race for figures is not the objective.

United in the passion of beautiful

Corthay, le discret chausseur des stars

This outsider of the exceptional shoe failed to disappear.Corthay is a sort of Obni -unidentified kick object -, a little "rock", arose only twenty -five years ago, in 1990, before entering and gaining respect for his peers."I have always compared myself to a chef, iconoclastic and sassy, who seeks to constantly innovate on materials, patinas, assembly in my lab-workshop", defines Pierre Corthay.The 2008 crisis and the defection of a large Japanese distributor, causing a 30% drop in turnover, put the business on their knees, then pushed to receivership.Today from business, it is now a curious tandem that officiates, while in style opposition.

At 53, the founder took a step back - surely a little on the contrary.He is today "Art Director" and remains the inspirer, the guide, assisted by his younger brother, nine years younger.It is the discreet Xavier de Royère, 47, one of the key shareholders, who assumes the function of CEO.Fire and water will say some.But go know who is really what.Both undoubtedly meet in the passion of the beautiful and in the desire to perpetuate a company which, whatever happens, will remain the affair of their lives.

Pierre Corthay, first.A beautiful story, a character.Comedian parents: Father Sylvain, a former of Peter Brook's troop in the 1970s, whom he often accompanies in tours;Mother Catherine Sola, who turned with Lautner, Dhéry, Chabrol...A schooling marked by alternative pedagogy Steiner.And the diligent attendance of the sculpture workshop of his great-aunt, Valentine Schlegel."I was going to her house in the evening, she also worked the leather and it was there, from 8 years old, that I had the revelation," recalls Pierre Corthay.At 17, he left the family fold for seven years of learning among the companions of duty with, as reception work, a pair of Mexican female boots.Follow two years at John Lobb, then the post of workshop manager of Berluti and international marketing and development courses at the CCI in Paris."I always wanted to create my business," he recalls.What he does in 1990.Also story to take up the torch of an almost disappeared tradition - Paris, between the two wars, was the capital of the Bottiers, with its 450 craftsmen.

Corthay will gradually impose himself.The ready-to-chausse starts in 2003 with a few machines in a workshop in Neuilly-Plaisance.Today "liberated" from business management, Pierre Corthay admits devoting a little more time to his hobbies.A way of staying open to creativity.Lover of blues, jazz and rock, he gets up early every morning to play the guitar and sometimes performs with his friend actor François Levantal.Painter in his spare time, he leans for the abstraction of Jackson Pollock or Joan Mitchell and for the artists of the support/surface group, Claude Viallat in particular, for whom the material and the gesture count more than the subject.

The master Bottier and the entrepreneur

In this yardstick, Xavier de Royère may seem of another world.Where Pierre Corthay dissects legs crossed on the sofa, relaxed and smiling, small beard and mustache with a skillfully studied clutter, this long 47 -year -old quadra - obviously the job keeps well -, dressed in dark is tense towards the interlocutor, thelively and ardent eye, concentrated and all convictions outside.Another way of being inhabited by passion.This Périgourdin fan of rugby and devourer of paper newspapers - only confidences he allows -, son of the former CEO of Air Liquide Edouard de Royère, aligns the stages of the future boss on his CV: ESCP, three years old atArthur Andersen, then direction luxury.The LVMH “Retail” sector, where he meets Yves Carcelle, a long time CEO of Louis Vuitton, who died last year.A mentor he worships.Ten years at Le Malletier, first: sales assistant avenue Montaigne, director of the "flagship" on avenue Marceau, launch of the Champs-Elysées store in 1998...Departure for London - five years - before entering the Loewe subsidiary: Hong Kong, first, then the brand's headquarters in Madrid...A faultless course.

But where we could expect to see him climb the steps to the summits, he will choose to stand on his own feet."I wanted to continue to undertake.I learned that Pierre, that I did not know, was looking for a partner.A friend went for a tour of Volney and told me about an incredible product.I glimpsed its potential in a strong growth segment and I plunged.Of course, there is a lot to do to erase the traces of the bad pass, between 2008 and 2010.But this is precisely his talent.He resumed the company in March 2010, invests, completes the Tour de Table with some shareholders.Faced with a Berluti or a lobb, both subsidiaries of large groups (LVMH, Hermès) there is room for an independent house, very "family business", 100% made in France and original."I fight to produce in France but it's not easy...", He smiles.And between the artist who sees his creation keep his DNA and the entrepreneur who sees the development potential, the agreement can be done.

The recovery is radical.The high-end positioning of ready-to-chausses is accentuated.The offer is reissued, refocused on only 20 models whose emblematic Arca Derbys, acclaimed by customers.The prices - too low for the quality offered, explains the CEO - are revised upwards and Volney is fully rehabilitated.In terms of marketing, a pub campaign in 2011, with the Rock Star Bryan Adams marks the spirits in the world: Corthay is back!And major decision, but surely painful for Pierre Corthay, the small factory of Neuilly is ultimately relocated to Beaupréau.Moment (re) founder, however, for Xavier de Royère: “Otherwise, we were dead!»»

Another key decision, international expansion with corners in the world's largest stores and the revival of owner shops on the Volney model.Paris, London, Hong Kong, Singapore, Dubai, Tokyo, Beijing...The news, today, is twofold: diversification, with a small leather goods line;and the opening of a new store in South Africa, in Johannesburg, November 25.A first, long -awaited and...Very observed in the environment.Corthay's "business plan"?"Make sure that when you receive a bonus, you get up and go into one of our shops to please you," says Xavier de Royère.Simple.

Interview, according to Pierre Corthay

01.Avoid wearing the same pair two days in a row - the leather must be able to dry and breathe - and put them on with a shot.Imperative: put an impact between two uses.02.Wip the dust every day with a soft cotton cloth.It prevents leather from breathing, which weakens it.03.Nourish the skin once a fortnight by gently massaging it with a hazelnut of cream.After half an hour, spread a little shoe polish.At Corthay, we only use Sapphire Gold Medal products.Make shine with an old nylon bottom rolled in ball.Traveler special: replace the hire with newspaper and...Ban the rotating brushes of hotels!

A still narrow market

Dans son étude de 2014, le cabinet Bain&Co parle de «dynamique forte pour les chaussures de luxe», dont les ventes ont progressé de 8% par rapport à 2013.But the global market is still relatively narrow, at 14 billion euros in 2014, far below that of the bags (37 billion euros).

loading_img

Corthay, le discret chausseur des stars

Corthay, le discret chausseur des stars
21/07/2022

Corthay, le discret chausseur des stars

  • Par hggfd
  • |
  • 237 Vues

Si vos pas vous portent dans le panthéon de cire qu'est le musée Grévin, sur les Grands Boulevards parisiens, jetez donc un oeil aux pieds de l'effigie de Pierre Hermé, statufié depuis début octobre. Le célèbre pâtissier français porte de magnifiques souliers. Des Corthay. Moins célèbres que les Berluti ou les Lobb, les Corthay n'en ont pas moins leur fan-club. Pierre Hermé ne jure que par elles: «Je les adore. Pierre a un talent fou. Je trouve des choses de lui chez moi, ou de moi chez lui, comme vous voulez! Je lui achète une paire par an, et je les garde éternellement.» Jacques-Antoine Granjon, le patron de Vente-privée. com, posséderait quinze paires du même modèle, mais de couleurs différentes. Tous deux - comme une multitude de stars, de sportifs, d'artistes, de patrons - ont un jour franchi la porte de la boutique-atelier de la rue Volney, à deux pas de la place Vendôme et de ses bijoutiers prestigieux. Impossible, en pénétrant dans ce véritable petit écrin, de ne pas être saisi puis envoûté par les effluves mêlés du cuir, du bois, de la cire... Ici s'affaire tout un monde qui, dans les règles de l'art, peaufine la patine des souliers de clients du monde entier. «Venez, je vais vous montrer nos ateliers », invite, courtois et charmeur, le maître des lieux Pierre Corthay, tout en élégance sobre. Seule une bague «tête de mort» portée au doigt annonce la singularité du personnage. «C'est un perfectionniste et un esthète hors normes, un amateur de bonne chère, de vins fins et d'endroits décalés », assure ainsi une de ses connaissances. Direction les sous-sols, donc, à l'aspect et à l'odeur si caractéristiques des caves parisiennes.

Là, dans l'antre du seul maître d'art bottier en France, sont suspendues aux murs les formes en bois des pieds de clients prestigieux. Leur nom est inscrit au feutre: les tennismen Nadal et Tsonga, les actrices et acteurs Cate Blanchett, Matt Damon, Clint Eastwood, Jean Reno, Leonardo Di Caprio; Aditya Mittal, le fils du PDG d'ArcelorMittal, Pierre Hermé, Jacques-Antoine Granjon... Pierre Corthay raconte volontiers que l'achat de 150 paires par le sultan de Brunei lança l'entreprise et que le contrat avec le prestigieux club de golf de Long Island finança le prêt-à-chausser. Mais également qu'un chauffeur de car scolaire a économisé sou à sou pour s'offrir des Corthay sur mesure et conduit son bus avec! Stars ou simples amoureux du beau capables de casser leur tirelire pour s'offrir une paire à 6000 euros, la modestie est de mise ici. Tous et toutes sont logés à la même enseigne quand il s'agit de tendre ses pieds au maître de céans. L'entrée en matière relève quasiment du divan de psy pour verbaliser son idée, ses désirs. L'avis éclairé du bottier peut éviter les fautes de goût et de look. Chez Corthay, on met à nu plus que ses pieds. Impatients s'abstenir. Il faut en effet environ six mois pour prendre les mesures, sculpter les formes en bois, réaliser la première ébauche, essayer, rectifier, choisir les peaux (veau français, chameau - une innovation Corthay), tailler et assembler les souliers, les ajuster, choisir la teinte, l'appliquer, cirer ou glacer... Le prix à payer pour trouver chaussure - parfaite - à son pied.

D'ici ne sortent que quelques centaines de paires par an. D'autres préféreront choisir un modèle de «prêt-à-chausser» plus standard - compter quand même 1140 euros la paire en premier prix -, fabriqué dans l'usine artisanale de Beaupréau, petite ville industrieuse du Maine-et-Loire, à quelques encablures de Cholet. Beaupréau est pour 90% du chiffre d'affaires (environ 10 millions d'euros) de Maison Corthay qui y fabrique environ 10000 paires par an, avec le même soin et les mêmes peaux que rue Volney. Des quantités loin encore d'atteindre ceux des «grands» du secteur, comme Berluti et John Lobb, les plus proches en gamme, dont les volumes estimés tournent plutôt autour de 60000 et 30000. Mais la course au chiffre n'est pas l'objectif.

Unis dans la passion du beau

Corthay, le discret chausseur des stars

Cet outsider du soulier d'exception a pourtant bien failli disparaître. Corthay est une sorte d'obni - objet bottant non identifié -, un peu «rock», surgi il y a seulement vingt-cinq ans, en 1990, avant de s'institutionnaliser et de gagner le respect de ses pairs. «Je me suis toujours comparé à un chef cuisinier, iconoclaste et impertinent, qui cherche à innover en permanence sur les matières, les patines, le montage dans mon labo-atelier », se définit Pierre Corthay. La crise de 2008 et la défection d'un gros distributeur japonais, provoquant une chute de 30% du chiffre d'affaires, ont mis l'entreprise à genoux, poussée alors au redressement judiciaire. Aujourd'hui tirée d'affaire, c'est désormais un curieux tandem qui officie, tout en opposition de style.

A 53 ans, le fondateur a pris du recul - sûrement un peu à contrecoeur. Il est aujourd'hui «Art director» et reste l'inspirateur, le guide, assisté de son jeune frère, de neuf ans son cadet. C'est le discret Xavier de Royère, 47 ans, l'un des actionnaires clés, qui assume la fonction de PDG. Le feu et l'eau diront certains. Mais allez savoir qui est vraiment quoi. Tous deux se rejoignent assurément dans la passion du beau et dans la volonté de pérenniser une entreprise qui, quoiqu'il advienne, restera l'affaire de leur vie.

Pierre Corthay, d'abord. Une belle histoire, un personnage. Des parents comédiens: le père Sylvain, un ancien de la troupe de Peter Brook dans les années 70, qu'il accompagne souvent dans les tournées; la mère Catherine Sola, qui tourna avec Lautner, Dhéry, Chabrol... Une scolarité marquée par la pédagogie alternative Steiner. Et la fréquentation assidue de l'atelier de sculpture de sa grand-tante, Valentine Schlegel. «Je passais chez elle le soir, elle travaillait aussi le cuir et c'est là, dès 8 ans, que j'ai eu la révélation», se souvient Pierre Corthay. A 17 ans, il quitte le giron familial pour sept ans d'apprentissage chez les compagnons du Devoir avec, comme travail de réception, une paire de bottes féminines mexicaines. Suivent deux ans chez John Lobb, puis le poste de chef d'atelier de Berluti et des cours de marketing et de développement international à la CCI de Paris. «J'ai toujours voulu créer mon entreprise », rappelle-t-il. Ce qu'il fait en 1990. Histoire aussi de reprendre le flambeau d'une tradition presque disparue - Paris, entre les deux guerres, était la capitale des bottiers, avec ses 450 artisans.

Corthay va progressivement s'imposer. Le prêt-à-chausser démarre en 2003 avec quelques machines dans un atelier de Neuilly-Plaisance. Aujourd'hui «libéré» de la gestion de l'entreprise, Pierre Corthay reconnaît consacrer un peu plus de temps à ses hobbies. Une façon aussi de rester ouvert à la créativité. Amateur de blues, de jazz et de rock, il se lève tôt chaque matin pour jouer de la guitare et se produit parfois avec son ami acteur François Levantal. Peintre à ses heures, il penche pour l'abstraction de Jackson Pollock ou de Joan Mitchell et pour les artistes du groupe Supports/Surfaces, Claude Viallat notamment, pour qui la matière et le geste comptent plus que le sujet.

Le maître bottier et l'entrepreneur

A cette aune, Xavier de Royère peut sembler d'un autre monde. Là où Pierre Corthay disserte jambes croisées sur le sofa, décontracté et souriant, petite barbe et moustache au fouillis savamment étudié, ce longiligne quadra de 47 ans - visiblement le métier conserve bien -, vêtu de sombre est tendu vers l'interlocuteur, l'oeil vif et ardent, concentré et toutes convictions dehors. Une autre façon d'être habité par la passion. Ce Périgourdin fan de rugby et dévoreur de journaux papiers - seules confidences qu'il s'autorise -, fils de l'ancien PDG d'Air Liquide Edouard de Royère, aligne sur son CV les étapes du futur patron: ESCP, trois ans chez Arthur Andersen, puis direction le luxe. La filière «retail» LVMH, où il rencontre Yves Carcelle, longtemps PDG emblématique de Louis Vuitton, décédé l'an dernier. Un mentor qu'il vénère. Dix ans chez le malletier, d'abord: assistant de vente avenue Montaigne, directeur du «flagship» de l'avenue Marceau, lancement du magasin des Champs-Elysées en 1998... Départ pour Londres - cinq ans - avant d'entrer dans la filiale Loewe: Hong-Kong, d'abord, puis le siège de la marque, à Madrid... Un parcours sans faute.

Mais là où l'on pouvait s'attendre à le voir gravir les marches vers les sommets, il va choisir de voler de ses propres ailes. «Je voulais continuer à entreprendre. J'ai appris que Pierre, que je ne connaissais pas, recherchait un partenaire. Un ami est allé faire un tour rue Volney et m'a parlé d'un produit incroyable. J'ai entrevu son potentiel dans un segment en forte croissance et j'ai plongé.» Bien sûr, il y a beaucoup à faire pour effacer les traces de la mauvaise passe, entre 2008 et 2010. Mais c'est précisément là son talent. Il reprend l'entreprise en mars 2010, investit, complète le tour de table avec quelques actionnaires. Face à un Berluti ou à un Lobb, tous deux filiales de grands groupes (LVMH, Hermès) il y a de la place pour une maison indépendante, très «family business», 100% made in France et originale. «Je me bats pour qu'on produise en France mais ce n'est pas facile...», sourit-il. Et entre l'artiste qui voit sa création conserver son ADN et l'entrepreneur qui entrevoit le potentiel de développement, l'accord peut se faire.

La reprise en main est radicale. Le positionnement haut de gamme du prêt-à-chausser est accentué. L'offre est rééditée, recentrée sur 20 modèles seulement dont les emblématiques derbys Arca, plébiscités par les clients. Les prix - trop bas pour la qualité offerte, explique le PDG - sont revus à la hausse et Volney est entièrement réhabilité. Côté marketing, une campagne de pub, en 2011, avec la rock star Bryan Adams marque les esprits dans le milieu: Corthay is back! Et décision majeure, mais sûrement douloureuse pour Pierre Corthay, la petite usine de Neuilly est finalement délocalisée à Beaupréau. Moment (re)fondateur, cependant, pour Xavier de Royère: «Sinon, on était mort! »

Autre décision clé, l'expansion internationale avec des corners dans les plus grands magasins du monde et la relance des boutiques propriétaires sur le modèle Volney. Paris, Londres, Hong-Kong, Singapour, Dubaï, Tokyo, Pékin... L'actualité, aujourd'hui, est double: la diversification, avec une ligne de petite maroquinerie; et l'ouverture d'un nouveau magasin en Afrique du Sud, à Johannesburg, le 25 novembre. Une première, très attendue et... très observée dans le milieu. Le «business plan» de Corthay? «Faire en sorte que quand vous recevez un bonus, vous vous leviez et passiez dans une de nos boutiques vous faire plaisir», résume Xavier de Royère. Simple.

L'entretien, selon Pierre Corthay

01. Eviter de porter la même paire deux jours de suite - le cuir doit pouvoir sécher et respirer - et les enfiler avec un chausse-pied. Impératif: mettre un embauchoir entre deux utilisations. 02. Essuyer chaque jour la poussière avec un chiffon doux en coton. Elle empêche le cuir de respirer, ce qui le fragilise. 03. Nourrir la peau une fois par quinzaine en la massant délicatement avec une noisette de crème. Après une demi-heure, étaler un peu de cirage. Chez Corthay, on n'utilise que des produits Saphir médaille d'or. Faire briller avec un vieux bas nylon roulé en boule. Spécial voyageur: remplacez l'embauchoir par du papier journal et... bannissez les brosses rotatives des hôtels!

un marché encore étroit

Dans son étude de 2014, le cabinet Bain&Co parle de «dynamique forte pour les chaussures de luxe», dont les ventes ont progressé de 8% par rapport à 2013.Mais le marché mondial reste encore relativement étroit, à 14 milliards d'euros en 2014, très en deçà de celui des sacs (37 milliards d'euros).